Has P!nk Taken ‘Controversy’ One Step too Far?

I just watched P!nk’s new  video, below, and I feel like I should write something in response.

But I’m not entirely sure what to say, other than “has P!nk taken it one step too far?”

This morning P!nk posted a letter on her website, (http://www.pinkspage.com/uk/home ), justifying the video.

In the letter she said: “My favorite books, art pieces, films, and music, always have something jarring about them. I want art to make me think.

In order to do that, it may piss me off, or make me uncomfortable. That promotes awareness and change, or at least some discussion.”

I’m a big supporter of P!nk- her music, her opinions and her lack of fear to tell the truth. But, without sounding like a paranoid 50 year old, I think that a certain scene in this video may have pushed the boundaries too far. A piece of art work is a piece of art work and a documentary is a documentary, but a music video is a totally different platform.

I agree that: “It’s a problem, and it’s something we should talk about. We can choose to ignore the problem, and therefore ignore this video, but that won’t make it go away.”

Yes her video does have the shock factor, but does it actually help the ‘problem’? Does it actually offer any solution or help?

I think that the lyrics to F**kin Perfect are beautiful and filled with meaning. Did the video really have to be quite so extreme?

2 thoughts on “Has P!nk Taken ‘Controversy’ One Step too Far?

Add yours

  1. Fair comment, I agree the words are moving and uplifting. The video does confront an issue that needs talking about and any platform that promotes it is valuable.
    The video does show the reality and so also shows that often there is hope and a future.

    1. yeh lyrics are kool but i don’t see how this video is gunna offer any solutions. it’s like the video stupid girls – the scene where the girls are making themselves throw up. her justification was the same, raise awareness bla bla but actually she made a joke out of a serious illness. i love p!nk but i think she may be more concerned with controversy than anything else. if she really wants to help then why not do some work for mental health charity’s and raise awareness that way?? i dunno…rant over xx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

