A Spotlight On … Collaborations and Side Projects

This is something which I have been thinking about for a while. I mean, how many bands can one person actually be in? Is there a limit? Or more importantly, should there be?

Take Dave Grohl, for example. I love Dave Grohl- he’s talented, funny and therefore can get away with being in two bands at the same time. Not to mention the money he’s probably still reaming in from Nirvana. I’m sure I’m not alone in my love for Dave Grohl. Thousands of people, including myself, sat in an imaginary internet queue for hours in an attempt to purchase tickets for Them Crooked Vultures live. I must add that this was even before they had released a single song! Now, is it fair that a band can gain so much publicity based upon the simple fact that they include members of Foo Fighters and Led Zeppelin?

Clearly Foo Fighters’ drummer Taylor Hawkins thought he would get in on the act. I introduce to you Taylor Hawkins & The Coattail Riders! I am currently listening to a streaming of their album which can be found here- http://8track.taylorhawkins.com/ . It is undeniable that the album is pretty good. It combines the modernity of current Indie music with the historic and traditional sound of Them Crooked Vultures. However, is it really fair that millions of unsigned bands are struggling to gain recognition and meanwhile massive names are releasing more and more material under different names? On the other hand, they have worked incredibly hard for their success, so perhaps they deserve the added benefits.

Take a look at Pete Doherty– solo artist and front man for The Libertines AND Babyshambles. Equally, Carl Barât branched off of The Libertines and into Dirty Pretty Things. Or, Alex Turner-the fame and fortune of Arctic Monkeys was not enough, no, he also fronts The Last Shadow Puppets. Even bands like The Dead Weather are getting in on the act, calling them self a ‘supergroup’. The Dead Weather have an awesome sound and consist of Jack White (White Stripes AND The Raconteurs), Dean Fertita (Queens of The Stoneage) and more.

It has to be said that I am fan of most of the groups that I have named. These, however, are just a few examples. I am simply curious about how many groups one person can join! Simply because I personally was considering starting my own ‘supergroup’. I’m thinking Dave Grohl, Lily Allen, James Hetfield and myself, (of course). How about you??

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

